1st Time In 146 Years! Angelo Mathews ‘Timed Out’ At Cricket World Cup, Makes History With Unusual Dismissal
In an unprecedented event, Sri Lankan all-rounder Angelo Mathews was timed out during the Cricket World Cup match against Bangladesh on Monday, November 6, 2023. This is the first time in the history of international cricket that a player has been dismissed in this manner.
Also Read –
- Khalistani Leader Gurpatwant Singh Pannun Threatens To Blow Up Air India Flight on November 19
- Was Virat Kohli ‘selfish’? Cricket World Cup 2023: India beat New Zealand to go top
- Exciting Developments in Crypto ETFs | WILL SHOCK CRYPTO!
- The Next Big Wave in The World of Crypto | Billionaires Are Buying!! Finding 100x Cryptos
- How Much Bitcoin Do You Need to Secure Wealth? The Most Scarce and Valuable Asset
The incident occurred in the 25th over of the Sri Lankan innings, after the dismissal of batter Dinesh Chandimal. Mathews was due to bat next, but he was delayed by a problem with his helmet strap. The 12th man ran to retrieve a new helmet, but by the time Mathews was ready to bat, more than three minutes had elapsed since Chandimal’s dismissal.
Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan appealed for Mathews to be timed out, and the umpires agreed. Mathews was given out without facing a ball, and he had to leave the field without any opportunity to bat.
The Law of Cricket states that a new batter must take his position within two minutes of the previous dismissal. If the batter fails to do so, the umpire may call “timed out” and the batter is dismissed.
Mathews’ dismissal is a reminder of the importance of being prepared to bat at all times. It is also a warning to other players that they cannot afford to be delayed, even for a few minutes.
The incident has also sparked a debate about the timed-out rule. Some people have argued that the rule is too harsh, and that Mathews should not have been given out without facing a ball. Others have defended the rule, arguing that it is necessary to keep the game moving.
Regardless of one’s opinion on the rule, there is no doubt that Mathews’ dismissal is a unique and memorable moment in cricket history.
what is Rule of Cricket for “Timed Out”?
The cricket rule that Angelo Mathews was timed out under is Law 40 of the Laws of Cricket. This law states that a new batter must be ready to take his position within two minutes of the previous dismissal. If the batter fails to do so, the umpire may call “timed out” and the batter is dismissed.
The law goes on to say that the umpire will not call “timed out” if the batter is delayed by a factor beyond his control, such as an injury or a problem with his equipment. However, in Mathews’ case, the umpires decided that the delay was not beyond his control, as he had had enough time to get his helmet strap fixed before the two minutes had elapsed.
The timed-out rule is in place to keep the game moving and to discourage players from wasting time. It is a relatively rare occurrence, but it is a reminder to all players that they need to be ready to bat at all times.
In the case of Mathews, his dismissal was a major setback for Sri Lanka, as he is one of their most experienced and important players. However, it is also a reminder to all players that the rules of the game must be followed, even if it means that a player is dismissed in unusual circumstances.